Home

Current Location: Midwestern College Town

07.31.17

Price of beer in a bar: ~$4.75/pint of craft draft

Song currently stuck in my head: Black Betty (Ram Jam)

Ari Shaffir has a 4.5 hour podcast interviewing Rolph Potts, author of  Vagabonding (among other works). Readers of this blog will find plenty to enjoy. I think Ari keeps it relatively tame in this episode, but assume it’s neither SFW nor safe for the easily offended. Rolph mentions travel anthropology, basically looking at the social dynamics of travelers as a group and the repercussions of their interactions with locals. I had no idea this was an active field of study, but I’m fascinated. I always appreciate a deeper understanding or at least a new conceptual framework through which to view situations and activities in which I participate.

Ari previously interviewed former Black Flag frontman and asocial travel maniac Henry Rollins, who later sat down with Joe Rogan as well. The Rollins interviews really made me feel like I’m not doing enough with my life. He’s like a character out of a Gibson novel, if one of the contemporary ones.

So there’s over 10 hours of travel related audio content to help you while away the workday and/or chicken bus ride. Joe’s conversations do tend to be less focused than Ari’s (and that’s a low bar to start with).

The Girlfriend passed along this handy map of The US superimposed over a map of Europe to show how the latitudes line up. Looks like our trip will be… refreshingly brisk?

I continue to update and tinker with my pack. I’m aiming for a base weight (Total Weight – Weight of clothes I’m wearing) of 10 kg, since that’s the carry on limit for our flight. It looks like I should make it without much issue.

What might be more of an issue is political unrest in Poland, our first major stop on this trip. I’m eyeing the situation anxiously but thus far there’s been no violence, just a little ‘democracy in action’, so as of right now we plan to stay the course. Literally.

One Response to “Current Location: Midwestern College Town”

  1. LoMo Says:

    The lines match up on the map, but the weather patterns don’t. Remember that freaky Earth’s axis business? It will be warmer than you think


Leave a Reply

