Home

Current Location: Midwestern College Town

04.25.17

Price of beer in a bar: ~$4.75/pint of craft draft

Song currently stuck in my head: The irritatingly catchy theme from Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

I visited my parents over the weekend, packing lighter than I’ve ever traveled overnight before. I spent the last year or so preparing for a lengthy backcountry hike, aiming for a base weight under 20 lbs. While that trip isn’t going to come together, I learned a lot during my preparations and most of it is directly applicable to travel generally.

I spent 4 days in the same T shirt, pants, underwear and socks this past weekend. I know what you’re thinking, but keep in mind the shirt, underwear and socks were all made for this purpose. They were all lightweight merino wool, which suppresses odor and maintains it’s shape and comfort for surprising amounts of time. I’d say ideally the socks should have been swapped after 3 days and everything else could have easily gone on for 5th or 6th days. The T and underwear were both Cabela’s + Icebreaker, a joint venture that might be close to discontinued. I got them on clearance for about $13/each, but you’re probably going to pay 2 or 3 times that for comparable items at retail prices. The socks were Smartwool.

When you hear me say wool, don’t picture warm sweaters. I wear the lightest weight merino T in their line, which is 150 micron if I remember correctly, and comfortable up to about 80 degrees F. Mine is black, so a lighter color might push a bit higher. The briefs are similarly reasonable in warm conditions. I wouldn’t hesitate to try them in the tropics. Why not, everything else is terrible.

The pants are 5.11 Tactical Taclite Pros (or very similar, the product models change over time). I have mixed feelings about the pants. They dry fast and shed water and stains relatively well, though you would not mistake them for rain gear. The construction is solid and the cut allows for a wide range of mobility. But the main slash pockets are cheap and developing holes, the snap tends to unsnap too easily, they don’t breathe as well as I’d like… they’re a mixed bag.

Since the weather was predicted to be stable and I wouldn’t be spending much time out doors (this is the Midwest, getting things done is just a walk to the car, a walk from the car), this outfit plus a lightweight windbreaking Columbia button down was all I needed for day to day wear. Full synthetic shirts like this hold odors terribly in my experience, but the wool T prevents that layer from ever coming in contact with sweat or the bacteria that cause body odor, so working together they’re fine for days of wear. Add a pair of sweats and a T shirt for evening wear (I left for this trip directly from the gym, otherwise I’d have packed actual pajama pants), a stick of deodorant, a toothbrush, some face wipes and I’m there. The entire kit fit in a small day bag, about 11″ X 8″ X 4″, pictured below, excluding what’s already on my person.

This was a car trip, so the convenience of a small bag was minimal. I wasn’t lugging anything through airports, bus stations and the like. But the additional advantages of a small kit, like having far fewer things to keep track of, to pack, verify and manage, and far less to unpack/wash/etc, upon return, were greatly appreciated. This was a bit of a dry run, as many of these items will form the core of my pack for Europe. So far they’re even better than I expected.

Leave a Reply

