Home

Current Location: Midwestern College Town

01.25.17

Price of beer in a bar: This town is lousy with brew pubs. I can get a good stout for less than $5/pint.

Song currently stuck in my head: Lebanese Blonde (Thievery Corporation)

Preparations are underway. We’re providing hospice care for a loved family pet, so the timetable is undetermined but the outcome imminent. I’ve hucked my computer and 24″ monitor in favor of an X series Thinkpad that I’m trying to grow accustomed to. I hate laptops; they’re underpowered, overpriced, the screens are too small and about 18″ lower than they should be and the pointing devices fall far short of the mice we’ve been using for 25 years. They’re similar to mobile devices (Android, Ios, etc) in that they’re just good enough to be tolerable. Not to sound like a snob, but with my IT background of tens of thousands of hours at a keyboard, my standard is a bit higher than ‘tolerable’.

But, these devices travel. And that’s why we gnarl our hands onto and around these miniature keyboards.

There are alternatives. I could go for a high end ultrabook. They’re not even that expensive. But I bought this used for $40 because when I travel I want everything I carry to be more or less disposable.

I could get a Chromebook, but I don’t think I can rely on near constant connectivity and without it those things are doorstops.

Maybe a tablet? Get serious.

One Response to “Current Location: Midwestern College Town”

  1. Heather Eckford Says:

    Nice to see you post.


Leave a Reply

