Home

Current location: Studio apartment, Bocas Town, Colon Island, Panama

09.19.11

Price of beer in a bar: US$0.75 in the local bars down by the beach
Song currently stuck in my head: Family Tree (TV On The Radio)

It’s been a good weekend. The Palmar Tent Lodge opened on Saturday and had a grand opening pig roast.  US$10 bought you roundtrip transport by boat to Bastimentos and a plate of BBQ with sides.  The resort is beachfront with hammocks, lounge chairs, volleyball, horseshoes and body boards.  It was a good day.

Sunday was an island wide chili cookoff, again hosted beachfront here on Colon Island.  14 samples (and a significant portion of what The Girlfriend couldn’t eat) left me overstuffed and happy.  There are quite a few Texans here, so competition grade chili isn’t taken lightly.

A couple of weekends ago we stepped out into the Bocas Town traveler bar scene.  We set out on a Friday evening meaning to only have a couple of drinks.  We ran into a friend from Boquete and one thing led to another, which in turn led us to La Iguana.  The bars here seem to trade nights for popularity, much like in Utila.  This evening Iguana was the pull, since Barco Hundido was hosting a Latin music act.  Populated almost entirely by backpackers, vacationers and the occasional industry local, Iguana was packed with an attractive, drunk, social, fun crowd.  If you’ve ever crossed paths with the backpacker trail, then you know the crowd I mean.  I’m a little more intrigued by the local bars out along the beach near the Saigon neighborhood.  The setups look like typical central american dance clubs; huge rooms with a stage on one end and a bar on the other.  The only thing that usually keeps me out of these places is bad music turned up too loud (about as loud as being on the floor at a major live concert in The States, much louder than your average dance club), but there’s a whole district of bars out there so I’m excited to check it out.  I think we have one weekend left, I know where I want to spend it.

Beyond all that, days go by here.  The Girlfriend and I set up a schedule for sharing the laptop in the morning, which adds a nice bit of structure to the day.  I’m enjoying listening to podcasts out in the building’s social area and catching some TV at night (inevitable if it’s available, but I don’t feel bad with all this time on my hands).  I’m dreading being back in The States; I miss my family but if I had my way they’d be visiting me.  I mean, seriously, what with the Caribbean Beaches and all.

3 Responses to “Current location: Studio apartment, Bocas Town, Colon Island, Panama”

  1. Renee Conrad Says:

    I thought it was sweltering in Bocas. We (the boyfriend and I) moved to the fancy new hotel, Tortuga because he needs AC and it was the same price as being in Bocas town. There seemed to be a little breeze there. I thought it was really hard to get my bearings there in general, too many islands so I couldn’t really tell you where that hotel was geographically located.

    We paid $90 to go to Zapatillas and I thought it was well worth the money. It is like 20 miles away… used a ton of gas and took awhile to get there. The boat trip there was really beautiful and so was Zapatillas. I thought it was weird that it’s a state park. Did you snorkel in Dolphin Bay?? I was blown away by some of the things I saw there i.e. a black orb that looked to be made of glass. I asked our boatman what it was and he said, “it’s of the sea”. Duh!! There was purple and yellow coral as well and some jellyfish. I’ve never seen anything like it.

    Too bad you’re coming home, I would like to have caught up with you two in Bocas Town. Are you going to get Panama hats?? They’re in style back here in the states and they travel really well.

  2. V Says:

    Are you going back to the States when you leave Bocas? If so, I’ll miss your posts – they’ve been hugely influential while my hubby and I have been making our plans for Central America.

    • cgearhart Says:

      I am. I hope to dig through the spreadsheets and do some analysis/comparisons and I’ll still be happy to field questions, but I’m planning to spend some time in the states while we accumulate some savings. More to come, eventually…


Leave a Reply

