Home

Current Location: Apartment, San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua

12.13.10

Price of beer in a bar: US$1.85 for a liter
Song currently stuck in my head: Everything Must Go (Steely Dan)

I’ve spent most of my life in the north-midwestern US; unpleasant weather has been the rule rather than the exception.  In the winter months I’ve often arrived to work in the dark at 8 am and left work in the dark at 5pm. I ice fished a lot as a kid and had cold-weather emergency equipment in my car as a teen.

I’ve always wondered what it would be like to live somewhere with year round warmth and sunshine; do you get adjusted to it, or does it continue to boost your mood for years and years?  Basically, is life in a pleasant climate just inherently better?

All indications are yes.

Despite all of the charm and culture that god awful weather has given us, from Dostoevsky to 90s Grunge, I’m happy to have traded up. There’s a reason why gray skies are universally seen as dreary and it’s in our DNA. You can fight your genetically encoded predisposition to equatorial climes or try to trick it with full spectrum indoor lighting, but I’d rather get some coffee on the beach and watch the sunrise at 6am WHERE IT BELONGS.

I’ve been geeking out heavily over the last week. The Girlfriend’s Parents lost a lot of professional-grade data, and I spent a few days helping them find it (gnu ddrescue FTW). I’ve been a bit of a news junky (wikileaks coverage dominates my news sources these days), been heavily corresponding with friends about pressing matters, and reading “It’s Not You, It’s Biology“, “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” (mostly crap) and Fight Club. I recently finished “The Selfish Gene”, from which “It’s Not You…” draws heavily and which greatly enhanced my appreciation of the latter.

For the last several days we’ve been hanging out with a couple of vacationers, Ukrainian come New Yorker’s, beaching, boozing and dining as we wind down the last few days of our 30 day SJDS experiment.

It’s nice to be occupied.

2 Responses to “Current Location: Apartment, San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua”

  1. Heather Says:

    I just watched Fight Club on Saturday night, I didn’t realize how much I liked it.

    I wish I was enjoying that weather…we had a ‘blizzard’ in Wisconsin. It’s averaging a wind chill of about 10 to 20 below zero.

    • cgearhart Says:

      I finished the book just now and it was terrific. I may pick up “Choke” soon too. I read “Pygmy” back before I left, which was incredibly difficult to follow and I never decided if it was worth the trouble.


Leave a Reply

