Home

Current Location: Home with rented room, Esteli, Nicaragua

10.11.10

Price of beer in a bar: US$1.84 for 1 liter
Song currently stuck in my head: Military Coup (Morcheeba)

Class is in session.

Spanish lessons start today; The Girlfriend and I each signed up for 20 hours of one-on-one tutoring a week at US$100 each per week. I’m hoping that 4 weeks can take me from sounding like a 3rd grader with a glue problem to something a little more stately. I can get by, but often people just stare at me when I ask them a question, seemingly amazed at the sounds that I’ve made and without any glimmer of recognition that I might actually be trying to use words. It’s kind of the real world equivalent of when you right-click a misspelled word and you see the gray and italicized “No Suggestions”. You weren’t even close enough to being close that we can take a shot at it. It’s a total blank.

I do find the grayed out color that “No Suggestions” appears in to be pretty condescending. It like my software is imparting this quietly; like it’s embarrassed for me. Yeah, well fuck you, spellcheck. I don’t need your pity.

Where was I? Esteli, Nicaragua, that’s where. The weather continues to perplex the locals, though bewilderment like that requires a basic understanding which we lack, so it’s doesn’t seem strange to us at all. It’s very nice, with lots of sun, pleasant temperatures and occasional merciful clouds (the power of the sun here at 800 meters up and 13.05 degress North is non-trivial). We haven’t seen rain for days. It cleared up the day The Girlfriend bought a rain jacket, two occurrence between which she implies there may be some cause and effect relationship. If so, then that’s US$7.43 well spent in my opinion.

I’ve spent the last several days (weeks?) with an ear infection that turned to constant sneezing fits that turned to coughing and body aches while occasionally sneezing. This coincided with chloroquine withdrawal (marginal) and my return to weight lifting after 5 months, so I was pretty beat up. I think that I’m in the final stages of the cold, or whatever it is.

2 Responses to “Current Location: Home with rented room, Esteli, Nicaragua”

  1. Aunt Susie Says:

    Gee [redacted], I don’t think it’s that people don’t understand HOW you say something, it’s more WHAT you’re saying. For example, I read english, you write english, but “(the power of the sun here at 800 meters up and 13.05 degress North is non-trivial)” brings a perplexed look to my face also.

    • cgearhart Says:

      Yeah, sometimes I’m sober when I write this thing, put some thought into it and later proofread and edit it.

      Other times…


Leave a Reply

