Home

Current location: Copacabana, Bolivia

06.21.07

Cost of beer in a bar: still about US$1.20 still for 20 ounces, still
the same as lunch.
Song currently stuck in my head: conspicuously absent

I’m in Copacaban, Bolivia, and it is cold.  It’s been cold the whole
time I’ve been in Bolivia.  Long sleeves in the midday sun kind of
cold.  I’m in the tropics, but the elevation here is such that I
shiver in the night unless I have an especially heavy blanket.  Last
night I had an especially heavy blanket, which makes getting out of
bed in the 58 degree morning difficult.  I know what you’re thinking.
58 degrees isn’t that bad.  And your right, except for tow things:
that wasn’t the low and you probably have and use indoor heat at these
temps.  Not one place I’ve been in Bolivia offers this luxury.  Even
down south where the nights clock in at 10 degrees (and this is all in
Fahrenheit) you’re on your own, thermally speaking.

I strongly preferred the beach.  I’m going back to the sand in
Ecuador, but that will probably be my last brush with true tropical
comfort for this trip.  I’m sure I’ll get used to this weather.  I
hope.

So I’m killing time in Copa, and not the fun Brazilian one with it’s
famously beautiful women.  Where I am is a tourist town with little
else happening.  It’s on Lake Titicacca and is the launch point for
checking out a couple of island that the Incans were way, way into.
This is the kind of town with a million mostly empty hotels boasting
amenities such as “24 hour showers”.  On the up side my room is
relatively secure, clean, private, and costs about US$2.50.  I need to
replace my bag, but it looks like that will have to wait until Lima.
I don’t see anything suitable here.  I should have bought the US$6
knockoff Lotto duffel back the other day in La Paz

Tomorrow I hope to catch a bus to Lima, Peru.  It’s a 24 hour ride so
I intend to be half out of my mind when it ends.

I’m sending some items back with Rob, visiting friend of Dan’s and
newly minted Chicagoan, and among them is my mp3 player.  I just
wasn’t getting enough out of it to justify it’s existence in my bag.
It’s a long, complicated explanation of why, but it takes about 2
days to charge on the road and only give me a few hours of enjoyment.
I separated all of the stuff I’m sending back and have been going
without for days, giving myself the opportunity to think better of my
decisions.  My time without has led to an eery lack of song in my
head.

I punched all the numbers thus far and I am basically on budget.
Nicely done, me.

